Hi, I'm Mrs. F-B!

Monday, January 26, 2009

ALA Awards - Today's the BIG day!!!!

You know I've been waiting for the awards to be announced, and today was the big day! Turns out I haven't read many of the winners, but we DO have some of them in our library, so woo-hoo for that. Here's a list of some of the winners. For all the award winners, go to this link at ALA.

HAPPY, HAPPY reading, and congratulations to all the winners of this year's awards!

Margaret A. Edwards Award
This award honors outstanding lifetime contribution to writing for teens.

The recipient of the 2009 Margaret A. Edwards Award is Laurie Halse Anderson, also the winner of this year's Scott O'Dell Award for historical fiction (see entry from a few days ago).

Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Title Author

Newbery Medal and Honor Books and Poster 2009 -----------
Graveyard Book WINNER
The Graveyard Book Neil Gaiman
The Underneath Kathi Appelt
The Surrender Tree Margarita Engle
Savvy Ingrid Law
After Tupac And D Foster Jacqueline Woodson

Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal is presented to the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Title Author

Caldecott Medal and Honor Books and Poster 2009 -----------
The House in the Night WINNER
The House in the Night Susan Marie Swanson
Couple Of Boys Have The Best Week Ever Marla Frazee
How I Learned Geography Uri Shulevitz
River Of Words: The Story Of William Carlos Williams Jennifer Bryant

Coretta Scott King Awards

The Coretta Scott King Awards recognize an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults that demonstrate sensitivity to "the true worth and value of all beings". The Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award is presented to a writer and/or illustrator at the beginning of their career as a published children's book creator.

We Are The Ship
We Are The Ship Kadir Nelson
The Blacker the Berry Joyce Carol Thomas
Keeping The Night Watch Hope Anita Smith
Becoming Billie Holiday Carole Boston Weatherford

Pura Belpré Award

The Pura Belpré Award is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

The Surrender Tree Margarita Engle
Just In Case Yuyi Morales
Reaching Out Francisco Jimenez
The Storyteller's Candle = La Velita De Los Cuentos Lucia M. Gonzalez

Robert F. Sibert Award

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished informational book published in the English language during the preceding year.

Title Author
Robert F. Sibert Award 2009 -----------
We Are The Ship
We Are The Ship Kadir Nelson
Bodies From The Ice: Melting Glaciers And The Rediscovery Of The Past James M. Deem
What To Do About Alice? Barbara Kerley

Michael L. Printz Award

The Michael L. Printz Award is presented to a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.

Jellicoe Road
Jellicoe Road Melina Marchetta
Kingdom On The Waves M. T. Anderson
Disreputable History Of Frankie Landau-Banks E. Lockhart
Nation Terry Pratchett
Tender Morsels Margo Lanagan

No comments: